Voting in UP's Azamgarh and Rampur for the Lok Sabha Byelection is at 27.99 percent as of 1 p.m.

Updated: Jul 19

Till 1 p.m. on Thursday, a combined average of 27.99% of votes have been cast in the by-elections for the Lok Sabha constituencies of Azamgarh and Rampur. The byelections, which will determine the destiny of 19 candidates, are open to more than 35 lakh voters. Up to 1 pm, both seats had an average turnout of 279,99% of the electorate. According to the election office in this area, voting is proceeding peacefully. Of these, Rampur and Azamgarh each received 26.39 and 29.48 percent of the votes cast, respectively. These two seats are regarded as the opposition Samajwadi Party's (SP) strongholds in the state. The resignation of SP leader Akhilesh Yadav, who was elected to the Azamgarh seat, forced a byelection.

"In the Tanda and Daryal areas of the Swar assembly seat in Rampur, the police are intimidating SP workers on the orders of the ruling party. Take notice, Election Commission. The responsible police officers ought to face punishment. Make sure voting is fair," the party urged, attaching a letter it had sent to the election panel in support. The opposition party claimed in another tweet that polling was halted and people were denied the opportunity to cast ballots at a station in Tanda.

The Election Commission became aware of it as well since it claimed that its booth agents had been ejected from Azamgarh. "As part of a plot under the BJP's command, all agents have been ordered to flee from every polling location in the Gopalpur, Saudi, Mubarakpur, Azamgarh, and Mehnagar assembly areas. Take notice, Election Commission. Make sure elections are fair," the SP wrote in another tweet. A police officer allegedly misbehaved with an elderly voter in Bilaspur, Rampur, which caused a commotion. But according to the story, state minister Baldev Singh Aulakh arrived and calmed the crowd.

The polls, which opened at 7 am, will remain open until 6 pm, according to the office of the Chief Electoral Officer. Two general and as many expense observers have been assigned by the Election Commission to monitor the polls, according to a statement released by the organization. Additionally, it stated that 291 sector magistrates, 40 zonal magistrates, and 433 micro-observers had been assigned. A sufficient number of central and state forces have been deployed to guarantee the security and peaceful conduct of the elections. Central troops are in charge of maintaining the security of strongrooms and electronic voting machines (EVMs). 13 candidates from Azamgarh, where 18.38 lakh people are eligible to vote, are running for office, according to officials. There are six contestants.

The SP chose Asim Raja, who was hand-selected by Azam Khan, while the BJP fielded Ghanshyam Singh Lodhi, who recently joined the party. The Mayawati-led BSP is not running in the Rampur district. Three candidates are vying for the Azamgarh seat: Dharmendra Yadav of the SP, Shah Alam of the BSP, popularly known as Guddu Jamali, and BJP's Dinesh Lal Yadav, commonly known as "Nirhua," a well-known Bhojpuri actor and singer. Of the 18.38 lakh voters in Azamgarh, 9,70,249 are men, 8,67,942 are women, and 36 are of a third gender. According to officials, 2,176 booths are set up at 1,149 polling places in the constituency, where there are about 15% of Muslims living there. The SP won all four assembly races in this Lok Sabha seat: Azamgarh, Mubarakpur, Saudi, Gopalpur, and Mahanagar.

Yogi Adityanath, the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, campaigned for the two BJP candidates while top BJP leaders stayed away this time. In the byelections, Akhilesh Yadav and his wife Dimple did not run for office. Azam Khan received 5,59,177 votes in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, compared to Jaya Prada of the BJP who received 4,49,180 votes, and Sanjay Kapoor of the Congress who lost his deposit.

#bjpleaders #todaynews #currentnews #latestnewstoday

Read more Business, Entertainment, Social, Politics , Real Estate , Finance , Sports

0 views0 comments