Durgesh Pathak of the AAP Wins the Rajinder Nagar Assembly By-Election in Delhi

As a result of Durgesh Pathak's convincing victory over BJP challenger Rajesh Bhatia in a byelection on Sunday, the AAP was able to keep its hold on the Rajinder Nagar assembly constituency in Delhi. Bhatia received 28,851 votes, while Prem Lata, a candidate for Congress, received only 2,014 votes in the poll that was held on June 23.

Arvind Kejriwal, the national convenor of the Aam Aadmi Party and the Chief Minister of Delhi, congratulated Pathak on his victory and dubbed it a "defeat of dirty politics." ", and expressed gratitude to the populace for recognizing the efforts made by his administration in the national capital. "My sincere gratitude to the residents of Rajinder Nagar. I appreciate the people of Delhi's great love and affection. This motivates us to put in more effort and serve "In Hindi, Kejriwal tweeted.

A low 43.75 percent of voters participated in the byelection. A total of 14 candidates entered the race, and the fight was mostly perceived as a conflict between the BJP and the AAP. Official statistics show that Pathak received 40,319 votes, while Bhatia, his closest competitor, received 28,851 votes. The difference in favor was 11,468 votes. "The counting has ended after all rounds. Durgesh Pathak, an AAP candidate, defeated Rajesh Bhatia, a BJP candidate, by a margin of more than 11,000 votes, according to Delhi Chief Electoral Officer Ranbir Singh

16 rounds of voting were planned to take place, and the counting of votes started at 8 am under heavy security. Pathak and Bhatia were separated by just 1,500 votes at the beginning of the counting process, and that margin had shrunk to just 1,000 by the end of the fifth round. Pathak surged ahead with a margin of 3,000 votes after the sixth round. By the ninth round, his lead had grown to nearly 10,000 votes, and he eventually won with a margin of 11,000 votes.

Pathak tweeted "Love you Rajinder Nagar" in appreciation to the electorate. He further attributed his success to "Arvind Kejriwal's leadership." A senior poll official claimed that because the close button on one EVM was discovered to have been "not pressed," an additional round of counting was conducted. This was done by the usual operating protocols established by the election authority.

There is a "close button" on every electronic voting machine (EVM) "which, the official stated, must be clicked when the voting process is complete. "One EVM was set aside after it was discovered that the close button had not been touched during the counting procedure for one of the 16 scheduled rounds. The information obtained from the EVM was checked with the information entered in Form 17C, which contains the account of votes and other details, by the established standard operating procedures. Additionally, because the two matched, the votes cast in this EVM were counted separately "explained the official.

Thus, he added, a total of 17 rounds were conducted, and another SOP was available if there had been a data mismatch. According to information provided by the election officials, 72,060 of the total 72,283 votes in the final tally were cast using electronic voting machines, while 223 were cast by mail.

A total of 546 votes were cast in the NOTA category. The Rajinder Nagar constituency's voters' top election concerns included the availability of potable water, the state of the sewer system, the condition of the roads, and the new alcohol policy. Many many congratulations to my beloved brother @ipathak25 (Durgesh Pathak) for being elected MLA from Rajendra Nagar Vidhan Sabha, wrote Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia in a tweet in Hindi. Congratulations to all AAP employees on the success. @ArvindKejriwal Ji lives in the hearts of the people of Delhi, he continued.

After Raghav Chadha, the leader of the AAP, recently won the election to the Rajya Sabha, a byelection was required. Chadha served as the assemblyperson for the Rajinder Nagar district. Additionally, this was Delhi's first election after the COVID-19 epidemic began in 2020. Officials reported that twenty-four Covid-positive voters participated in the byelection. 1,64,698 voters in all—92,221 men, 72,473 women, and four members of the third gender—were eligible to cast ballots in the bye-election.

Additionally, 1,899 of the voters in this assembly seat are between the ages of 18 and 19, according to information provided by the Delhi CEO's office. The voter turnout in the 2022 byelection was much lower than the results from the 2020 elections, when Rajinder Nagar saw a voter turnout of 58.27%, with 58.09% male voters and 58.54% female voters.

According to officials, 43.67% of the electorate of men and 43.86% of the electorate of women participated in the byelection on June 23. 50% of voters identified as a third gender cast their ballots. The Rajinder Nagar byelection turnout was considerably lower than the results of the 2017 Rajouri Garden by-election (46.5%) and Bawana by-election (44.8%). The turnout for the two Delhi assembly seats in the 2015 elections was 72% and 61.83%, respectively.

#Delhi #RajinderNagar #DurgeshPathak #AAP

Read more Business, Entertainment, Social, Politics , Real Estate , Finance , Sports

0 views0 comments